Pages Navigation Menu

20 Ferraris Entered in the 2014 Mille Miglia

MM 250 Europa vy

McCoy Peter/McCoy Patrick – 212 Eport Berlinetta Vignale 1952

Roell Wolfgang/Roell Christof – 212 Inter Coupé Pinin Farina 1953

Newson Marc – 225 S Spyder Tuboscocca 1952

Khan Najeeb/Breslow John – 225 S Berlinetta Vignale 1952

Heyse Francis/Vande Vyvere Jean – 225 S Berlinetta Vignale 1952

Bergold Timm Arno/Kopp Daniela – 250 GT Berlinetta Pinin Farina 1953

Pohl Jacqueline/Pohl Nicola – 250 GT Coupé Boano 1956

Nicotra Dennis/Nicotra Cristopher – 250 GT Coupé Boano 195

Weihermueller Stefan – 250 GT Europa 1954

Roath Kenneth /Story William – 250 GT Europa 1955

Parmegiani Davide – 250 GT Europa Pinin Farina 1955

Bechtler Cristoph/Bechtler-Meier Patricia – 250 Berlinetta Pinin Farina 1953

Engelhorn Kurt/Seidl Florian – 250 Spyder Vignale 1953

Rollinger Marco/Niesen Raymond – 340 America Berlinetta Vignale 1951

Stehle Michael/von Hohenzollern Albrecht – 340 America Spyder Vignale 1952

Wyatt Steve/Rugolo Michele – 375 Spyder Pinin Farina 195

Bean Theo/Coffey Ann – 500 Mondial Spyder Pinin Farina 1954

Schlaewicke Andreas/Schmidt Bjoern – 500 TR Spyder Scaglietti 1956

Caggiati Claudio/Sassi Emilio – 500 TRC Spyder Scaglietti 1957

Ochiai Katsuhiko/Hirai Sachiko – 750 Monza Spyder Scaglietti 1955

The 2014 Schedule:

The main change for the upcoming Mille Miglia is that it will last an extra day, with an extra leg to be raced on the Sunday morning to the finishing line in Brescia. The start, from Viale Venezia delle Mille Miglia as always, will be on Thursday 15 May, in Brescia. The course is unchanged as far as Vicenza, where the cars will head north toward Marostica and Bassano del Grappa. The 1st leg will finish in Padova, with all the members of the “caravan” being hosted for the night in Thermae Abano Montegrotto, whence the 2nd leg will start on Friday morning. The second day, Friday 16 May, will see numerous changes: after San Marino, the participants will continue in the direction of Riccione (instead of cutting inland) and then south along the coast to Loreto and then Ascoli and Teramo. Passage through L’Aquila will be a gesture of symbolic solidarity, as it was in 1997 when the Freccia Rossa drove past the tents of the earth-quake evacuees in Umbria and in 2013 when it went through quake-stricken Emilia Romagna. In line with tradition, the 2nd leg will close with a parade through the heart of Rome.

As on days 1 and 2, the start of the 3rd leg, on Saturday 17 May, will be as in previous years, with the customary passing through Ronciglione, Viterbo, Radicofani and Siena, places strongly associated with the Mille Miglia and much loved by the participants. After Siena, the road-book will indicate a left turn towards Pisa and Lucca. As in 1947 and 1948, the Freccia Rossa will head back east after passing beneath the Leaning Tower and make for the Futa and Raticosa passes and thence to Bologna. The teams will stay the night in the historic centre of this originally Etruscan city, whence they will set off again on the Sunday morning. The 4th leg, a new addition to the Race, will go through Modena, Reggio Emilia (missed out last year in favour of the areas hit by the earthquake) and Mantova. Arrival in Brescia, on Sunday.

In the words of 1000 Miglia Srl managing director Marco Makaus: “Since last year, we have been committed to maintaining the spirit of the Freccia Rossa intact, with an even stronger focus on the tradition of our great Race. This is why the Mille Miglia is organized in close compliance with all the historical and sporting aspects, as well as with high standards of sobriety and safety. All this led us to introduce a number of changes to the 2014 Mille Miglia, whilst also managing to respect the legend we’re called upon to preserve and celebrate”.

Source: Info – www.1000miglia.i | Images – Vincent Yernauxt