Pages Navigation Menu

82nd Le Mans 24 Hours: Eleven Team Players


Eleven nominated with three reserves. A football team? No, the number of 458 GT2s Ferrari will enter to tackle the 82nd Le Mans 24 Hours, the most prestigious endurance race in the world.

In the GTE-Pro class, AF Corse, the reigning world champion team is entering two cars, the first in the hands of champion Gianmaria Bruni and the second for Scuderia test driver, Davide Rigon. Among the drivers who will contest the event with the team from Piacenza will certainly be Toni Vilander, while the others will be announced in the coming weeks. A third Ferrari will be competing in the same class, entered by the team which won the 2013 title in the European Le Mans Series. Ram Racing will field the Irish driver Matt Griffin, who was the ELMS champion last year, when sharing the 458 GT2 with Johnny Mowlem. The latter will be taking part in another car in the GTE-Am class, where a further seven cars are entered. Four of them are from the AF Corse stable and will be driven by Luis Perez Companc, Yannick Mallegol, Peter Mann and Steve Wyatt: the Australian gentleman racer won the right take to take part thanks to taking the GTC class win in the Asian Le Mans Series.

The French Sofrev Asp team, GTR team and driver champions in the 2013 Blancpain Endurance Series, will be taking part with a world champion, albeit a footballer. Fabien Barthez, part of the team that won the FIA World Cup in 19987, will be tackle the 24 Hours after having secured the drivers’ title in last year’s French GT championship teamed with Morgan Moulin-Traffort.
SMP Racing will also field a Maranello driver in the shape of Andrea Bertolini, while 8 Star Motorsports, reigning FIA WEC champions, will again be racing with the Venezuelan Vicente Potolicchio.

On the bench for the moment are three teams which, along with a further five, contribute their passion for flying the Prancing Horse flag in GT series around the world: JMW Motorsport, Team Taisan (GTE champions in the Asian Le Mans Series 2013) and Risi Competizione.

Source: Ferrari Media